Boyles PRs TWICE at NAIA Indoor Nationals

After a weekend in Johnson City, Tenn:

Matt Boyles, winner of the NAIA Indoor T&F Nationals in the 3000 meter
racewalk on Friday doubled back later the same afternoon to run the 3,000m
prelims.   He advanced to the finals with a personal best time of 8:47.20.

Then in Saturday afternoon's finals Boyles smashed that mark with a new PB
of 8:38.89 on his way to a 9th place finish overall (Apx 9:13 for 2 miles).

In the walks Matt, and Rio Grande teammate Jim Robinson, worked together,
gradually picking up the pace as the race progressed.  Robinson took the
lead with 2 laps to go but was unable to hang on over the last 20 meters.

While neither Matt, or Jim, had personally bests, their "casual" pace over
the first kilometer (4:35 apx) allowed teammate Tim Sykes to settle into a
3rd place finish of 14:25 - good for a 1 minute Personal best.

The key here is that collegians can have success both walking and
running.  Rio Grande University, the small southeastern Ohio school, went
on to place 6th in the team standings with 26 points, totally on the
prowess of it's walkers.  Whether they ran, or walked.

Important note - 4 of the 5 walkers on the men's side were seniors in this

In the women's race it was Magda Spyra, a senior at Mary's college in North
Dakota, who won unchallenged.   Kate Brooker, a junior at Simon Fraser
college in Canada, was second.   Katie Rulapaugh, who was second as a
frosh, was third this year as a senior.

Rio Grande's two entries, Kristen Barnett, and Billie Robinson (Jim's
sister) placed 4th and 5th.  Each had a personal best.


1 Magda Spyra     SR Mary (Nd)       15:31.17  10
2 Kate Brooker    JR Simon Fraser    16:13.29   8
3 Katie Rulapaugh SR Cedarville Univ 16:17.34   6
4 Kristen Barnett SO Rio Grande (Oh) 16:18.62   4
5 Billie Robinson FR Rio Grande (Oh) 16:26.24   2
6 Emma Carter     JR Baker           16:40.20   1
7 Beth Lewis      SO Central Meth    17:10.45
8 Erin Goeden     SR Mount Marty     18:07.70
9 Amye Ellingson  SO Northwest Co    18:38.05


1 Matt Boyles     JR Rio Grande (Oh) 12:58.86  10
2 Jim Robinson    SR Rio Grande (Oh) 12:59.18   8
3 Tim Sykes       SR Rio Grande (Oh) 14:25.81   6
4 Spencer Finley  SR Taylor Univ(In) 15:58.21   4
5 Scott Littrell  SR Rio Grande (Oh) 19:22.92   2

*Return to homepage